News & Events

2017 OELLEN AGM Wrap Up and Photos

We’re happy to report that our AGM for the year of 2017 went fantastically well! We had a full house with 70 + guests including The DET representative was Cory Pearce Service Support Branch Manager, Outer East North-Eastern Victoria Region, Regional Services Group, Department of Education and Training, teachers, youth workers, students, education providers, service providers and much more. Here are just a few of the highlights from the morning;

OELLEN’s Executive Officer Fiona Purcell presented on the latest statistics concerning young people in the Outer Eastern area, particularly highlighting the need to focus on promoting construction and the gender discrepancy in vocational education across the local government areas.

We were also lucky enough to host two fantastic guest speakers, Demographer, Social Researcher, and author of ‘Hello Gen Z, Engaging the generation of Post Millennials’ Claire Madden. Claire spoke on the topic of ‘Educating Screenagers’ concerning Generation Z and Alpha, their use of technology, how it shapes their worldview and how this affects their learning and employment. It was an extremely informative, engaging and interactive presentation.

Secondly, Kimberley Smyth, from Hey Sista Plumbing gave an inspiring presentation concerning women in trades. Through a candid account of her own experience becoming a woman in trade, Kimberley Smyth provided an insightful and entertaining presentation concerning changing the landscape and empowering women to overcome obstacles and enter trades.

OELLEN also presented the 2017 OELLEN VCAL Achievement Awards and would like to congratulate the recipients;

VCAL Teacher Award: Ross Theunissen (Ranges Tec)

Senior VCAL Student Achievement Award: Sarah Bast (Lilydale Heights College)

Intermediate VCAL Student Achievement Award: Jack Lugg (MDLC)

VCAL Team Achievement Award: Mooroolbark College students:

Adam Gaudiano

Bradley Connoughten

Mark Biggins

Mathew Reuter

Riley Edwards

Spencer Moulton

Zack Burns

Finally, OELLEN’s new constitution was passed unanimously and the new board consists of the following members

 Announcement of New Board for 2018




Bronwyn Harcourt

Croydon Community School

Rosina Fotia 

Lilydale Heights College

Allan Rennick 

Healesville High

Linda Kearley


Janet Claringbold


Jo Priest


Heidi Tucker


Lou Zarro

City of Knox

Helen Ruddell

Shire of Yarra Ranges

Adam Cooper

City of Maroondah

Helene Rooks


Lea Jones


Mark Heuston

Croydon Community School

OELLEN would like to thank our retiring board members, Sharon Rice, Tim Pitt and Rae Jamieson with a special thank you to Rae Jamieson for her incredible support of OELLEN as she steps down from her role as our Chairperson. Rae has been involved with OELLEN since its inception and has chaired the board since 2011.



Outer Eastern Local Learning & Employment Network